The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

I can talk about this book for hours and hours and I still would not be done. I have many favourite books, but this ranks very high on that list. Many people must have read this book, it does relate to all. I read this book almost once every year.

The story is simple and the book is very easy to read. When you begin, it may sound like a story you would tell kids. But if you start relating it to your life the book takes on a whole new meaning. It takes you to a world of magic, omens, alchemy, personal legend and following your dream. It makes you visualize life as a journey towards your dreams where anything is possible and you learn life’s lessons along the way. This is a must read for everyone, I think.

I really like the work of Paulo Coelho. His blog is one of my favourite places on the internet. It would be really great if I can meet him in person.

More links : The Alchemist Quotes | Paulo Coelho Blog

  1. Shirin
    July 11, 2010 at 6:20 am

    Yes, I have also read this book and believe me it is amazing! This book takes us to diffrent world and takes us to the journy of thoughts. It made us think lot about self! We have to understand the signs God has sent for us…..We should learn to enjoy the beautiful things god has given us. Most of the time because of society or fear or rules we ignore these pleasures, ignore the person we love or person who love us! and when time is gone we become misrable!
    This book gives us insights for such innumbarable signs…..go ahead read it! There is Marathi edition also…don’t miss it!

    • patodkar sunil
      November 6, 2012 at 9:38 am

      who is the auther of marathi edition of alchemist please mail ….. sunilpatodkar@gmail.com

  2. Deepa
    July 14, 2010 at 5:34 am

    Yes definately a good book. Lot more to absorb than just to read. But I didnt like other books by him. This 1 stands alone in my list for Paulo

    • July 15, 2010 at 11:47 am

      Hi. I read your comment 2 days ago and started thinking about it. First I didn’t understand why you liked one of his books and not others. But slowly, I can understand why you are saying that. Correct me if I am wrong, but this is what I think.

      The Alchemist is a nice and easy book to read, and to relate to. By relating to a book, I mean trying to visualize yourself as the character of the book. Trying to project the story to your life and your life to the story. So I think, because the Alchemist is the story of a young boy in search for his dream, all of us can relate to the book easily. His struggles and story, is somewhere deeply embedded in our stories.

      But Paulo’s other books are not like that. Their leading characters are very different and complex to understand. We can’t see us being them in their stories. May be that’s the reason why you like the Alchemist more than other books. These are just my thoughts, tell me what you think?
      M

  3. mann
    October 9, 2010 at 6:03 am

    this book is just amazing… it makes u relate the story with our own life… dats a magic of Paulo…

  4. mann
    October 9, 2010 at 6:08 am

    have anyone read “M BROKE… LOVE ME” written by Animesh Verma… its a nice book… must read by youth…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

