Robert Frost


Robert Frost

Robert Frost Sign

Robert Lee Frost (March 26, 1874 – January 29, 1963) was an American poet. He is highly regarded for his realistic depictions of rural life and his command of American colloquial speech. His work frequently employed settings from rural life in New England in the early twentieth century, using them to examine complex social and philosophical themes. A popular and often-quoted poet, Frost was honored frequently during his lifetime, receiving four Pulitzer Prizes for Poetry.


Famous Quotes and Lines -(more quotes :  Wikiquote | Thinkexist | Brainyquote)

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth.

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same.

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.


Writing free verse is like playing tennis with the net down.

A poet never takes notes. You never take notes in a love affair.

Forgive, O Lord, my little jokes on Thee
And I’ll forgive Thy great big one on me.

It takes all sorts of in and outdoor schooling
To get adapted to my kind of fooling.

You don’t have to deserve your mother’s love. You have to deserve your father’s. He’s more particular…

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Love is an irresistible desire to be irresistibly desired.

Poetry is a way of taking life by the throat.

Talking is a hydrant in the yard and writing is a faucet upstairs in the house. Opening the first takes all the pressure off the second.

A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain.

A poem begins as a lump in the throat, a sense of wrong, a homesickness, a lovesickness.

A poem begins in delight and ends in wisdom.

And were an epitaph to be my story I’d have a short one ready for my own. I would have written of me on my stone: I had a lover’s quarrel with the world.

Don’t ever take a fence down until you know why it was put up.

Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence.

Forgive me my nonsense, as I also forgive the nonsense of those that think they talk sense.

Humor is the most engaging cowardice.

Home is the place where, when you have to go there, they have to take you in.

I am a writer of books in retrospect. I talk in order to understand; I teach in order to learn.

I have never started a poem yet whose end I knew. Writing a poem is discovering.

I’m not confused. I’m just well mixed.

If society fits you comfortably enough, you call it freedom.

In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.

Poets are like baseball pitchers. Both have their moments. The intervals are the tough things.

The best way out is always through.

The brain is a wonderful organ; it starts working the moment you get up in the morning and does not stop until you get into the office.

The ear is the only true writer and the only true reader.

The middle of the road is where the white line is – and that’s the worst place to drive.

The reason why worry kills more people than work is that more people worry than work.

There are two kinds of teachers: the kind that fill you with so much quail shot that you can’t move, and the kind that just gives you a little prod behind and you jump to the skies.

Thinking isn’t agreeing or disagreeing. That’s voting.

You have freedom when you’re easy in your harness.

  1. July 15, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    मी इथून जाणार नाही

    जर भविष्य बघायचं असेल
    तर भुतकाळात डोकावून बघा
    काळाचं चक्र गोल फिरून परत
    तिथेच येतं का ते बघा

    घडाळ्याच्या काट्यांना गोल फिरून
    इतिहास परत लिहायची सवय
    माणूस जे लवकर शिकत नाही
    ते धडे परत शिकवायची सवय

    अविश्रांत लढत राहावं आपण
    विजय-पराजय त्याचा निर्णय असावा
    निरपेक्ष काम करत राहावं आपण
    अंत त्याच्यावर सोपवावा

    थकून हार मानेल ध्येय कधी
    तो पर्यंत लढायचं मी थांबणार नाही
    आणि जिवनाशी प्रेमाने भांडल्याशिवाय
    मी इथून जाणार नाही

    — मयुरेश कुलकर्णी

    And were an epitaph to be my story I’d have a short one ready for my own. I would have written of me on my stone: I had a lover’s quarrel with the world.

    — Robert Frost

  2. sneha
    July 15, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I’m not confused. I’m just well mixed.

    well said….khup mast aani khup practical….
    many thanx to you mayuresh……….

  3. anuja
    July 15, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    I like the last lines.. very inspiring..good gng!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

